Its a noodle, its a pancake, its a tortilla

Egg White Crepe

OMG this was so easy I don’t know why I didn’t try it sooner. A week ago I noticed that Mark Sisson’s The Primal Blueprint Cookbook had a recipe for Enchilada’s using egg white tortillas. I thought, “That looks good but a little labor intensive.” Then I was watching Psych and a short order cook was making egg white omelets on a huge flat cooktop, then I made creme brulee and had a bunch of egg whites sitting in the fridge, then Divine Health posted a link to a recipe for egg white pancakes. So I thought, “Okay universe, I’ll just do it already.”

Your initial thought might be that a substitute is not as good as the real thing. And you might be correct if you don’t normally eat this way. But I’ve had bread and pasta eliminated from my diet for awhile now. Honestly I don’t really even like the taste of it anymore. I can handle a bun on a really greasy cheeseburger though I pick most of it off. I’ve tried pasta and its really the creamy sauce, meat and veggies that I crave. I’ve tried a soft shell taco and I felt like I was eating wadded paper coated with glue. I do not at all miss wheat products-though I might try a sugar cookie if one crosses my path. It is so true that it becomes an addiction and doesn’t really appeal to actual hunger or cravings for a certain flavor.

I’ve made French Toastless and it satisfies  that sweet breakfast tooth. But the idea of being able to wrap some berries or jam with something actually nutritious appealed to my affinity for food presentation. I also thought it might provide the texture you just can’t get with scrambled eggs or coconut flour baked goods. And these egg white pancakes certainly fit the bill.

And its so much easier then I thought it would be.

THE RECIPE

8 egg whites-it turned out to be about 5 large pancakes

a dash of cream-though this can be eliminated

butter or coconut oil for frying

I whisked the ingredients together in my mixer til the eggs were frothy

Heat the skillet and the butter-I used non-stick because I haven’t completely gotten used to frying in cast iron and my other pans were dirty. I do like how easy non-stick is but I worry about the toxins that can be released-you make your own personal decision on the matter.

I scooped up the mixed egg white in a 1/3 cup (though I didn’t fill it full) and poured it in my skillet. The whites ran and made an uneven circular shape-our house isn’t very square-lol. I took my spatula and kind nudged the edge the sides toward the middle. It only took about 30 seconds for the egg whites to harden enough to flip them and even less for the the other side to harden.

I did re-butter the pan every time I made a new one.

There you  have your egg white whatever.

Egg White Tortilla Roll

Now you can use your Egg White Pancake for whatever you can think up. The Primal Blueprint Cookbook has a recipe for enchiladas. My husband suggested cutting them into strips and adding them to warmed chicken soup. This morning I added a little syrup and cut it into small bits for one tot and rolled it around a little raspberry jam and topped it with a little syrup and cinnamon for myself and the other tot. You could also add a little whipped cream cheese in the middle for a really rich crepe.  I used to make flour crepes all the time as a kid and I can honestly say this is so much tastier and filling. The texture is perfect and the taste is not funky at all.

What have/would you use your egg white whatever for?

 

  1. Wow, you did a wonderful job. At first i wasn’t sure if it was a crepe or not lol but these egg white crepes really came out look amazing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment